Business Process Technology

◀ People

Prof. Dr. Mathias Weske

Mathias Weske

Phone: +49(0)331-5509-191

Fax: +49(0)331-5509-189

Room: C-2.07



Bio Sketch

Professor Dr. Mathias Weske is a Fellow of the German Computer Science Society and chair of the business process technology research group at Hasso Plattner Institute at the Digital Engineering Faculty, University of Potsdam, Germany. We aim at addressing real-world problems in business process management with formal approaches and engineering useful prototypes. The BPT research group has a track record in engineering prototypes with a significant impact on research and practice, including projects like Oryx and jBPT. Dr. Weske co-founded Signavio, was business angel at Synfioo, and is an advisor to mamahealth. He authored the first textbook on business process management in 2007, currently in its 3rd edition, and he held the first massive open online course on the topic in 2013. With Matthias Kunze, he published a textbook on behavioural models. Dr. Weske is a founding member of the steering committee of the BPM conference series and from September 2017 through September 2022 its chair.

Publication Footprint

Activities at Digital Engineering Fakultät and HPI

Scientific Service

Reviews for Scientific Journals

ACM Computing Surveys; ACM Transactions on the Web; IEEE Internet Computing; IEEE Transaction on Software Engineering; IEEE Transactions on Services Computing; Information Systems, Elsevier; Information and Software Technology, Elsevier; Data and Knowledge Engineering, Elsevier; Distributed and Parallel Databases, Springer; Informatik Forschung und Entwicklung, Springer-Verlag; International Journal of Business Process Integration and Management; VLDB Journal; IEEE Transactions on Systems, Man and Cybernetics

Dissemination and Transfer

PhD Supervisions at University of Potsdam

  1. Dr. Hilmar Schuschel (2006)
  2. Dr. Frank Puhlmann (2007)
  3. Dr. Jens Hündling (2008)
  4. Dr. Arnd Schnieders (2008)
  5. Dr. Gero Decker (2009)
  6. Dr. Ahmed Awad (2010)
  7. Dr. Matthias Weidlich (2011)
  8. Dr. Alexander Lübbe (2012)
  9. Dr. Artem Polyvyanyy (2012)
  10. Dr. Sergey Smirnov (2012)
  11. Dr. Matthias Kunze (2013)
  12. Dr. Andreas Rogge-Solti (2014)
  13. Dr. Rami Eid-Sabbagh (2015)
  14. Dr. Thomas Baier (2015)
  15. Dr. Andreas Meyer (2015)
  16. Dr. Luise Pufahl (2018)
  17. Dr. Ekaterina Bazhenova (2018)
  18. Dr. Nico Herzberg (2018)
  19. Dr. Kimon Batoulis (2019)
  20. Dr. Adriatik Nikaj (2019)
  21. Dr. Sankalita Mandal (2019)
  22. Dr. Jan Ladleif (2021)
  23. Dr. Stephan Haarmann (2022)
  24. Dr. Dorina Bano (2023)

PhD and Habilitation Evaluations

  1. Pierluigi Plebani, PhD (2005), Politecnico di Milano
  2. Nick Russell, PhD (2007), Queensland University of Technology
  3. Dr. Helge Hofmeister (2009), University of Bamberg
  4. Dr. rer. nat. habil Stephanie Rinderle-Ma (2009), University of Ulm
  5. Dr. rer. nat. habil Barbara Weber (2009), University of Innsbruck
  6. Dr. Christian Günther (2009), Technical University Eindhoven
  7. Marcello la Rosa, PhD (2009), Queensland University of Technology
  8. Dr. Niels Lohmann (2010), Technical University Eindhoven and University of Rostock
  9. Dr. Anne Rozinat (2010), Technical University Eindhoven
  10. Dr. Chen Li (2010), University of Twente
  11. Dr.-Ing. Nils Barnickel (2011), Technical University Berlin
  12. Dr. rer. pol. Volker Stiehl (2011), Technical University Darmstadt
  13. Dr. rer. nat. Christoph Ringelstein (2011), University of Koblenz-Landau
  14. Reina Uba, PhD (2011), University of Tartu, Estonia
  15. Dr.-Ing. Jürgen Müller (2012), University of Potsdam
  16. Dr. Zhiqiang Yan (2012), Technical University Eindhoven
  17. Dr. Cristina Cabanillas (2012), University of Sevilla
  18. Dr. Nick van Beest (2013), University of Groningen
  19. Dr. rer. nat. Thao Ly (2013), University of Ulm
  20. Dr. rer. nat. Andreas Göb (2013), Technical University of Munich
  21. Dr.-Ing. Daniel Stöhr (2014), Technical University of Berlin
  22. Dr. Martijn Zoet (2014), University of Utrecht
  23. Dr. Luke Herbert (2014), Technical University of Denmark
  24. Dr.-Ing. Dr. med Johannes Starlinger (2015), HU Berlin
  25. Dr. rer. nat Yossef Arbach (2015), TU Berlin
  26. Dr. Fabian Pittke (2015), WU Vienna
  27. Christopher Klinkmüller, PhD (2017), Macquarie University
  28. Mike Marin, PhD (2017), University of South Africa
  29. Dr.-Ing. Ronny Seiger (2018), TU Dresden
  30. Dr. rer. nat. Marvin Triebel (2018), HU Berlin
  31. Dr. Francesca Zerbato (2019) University of Verona, Italy (Co-Advisor)
  32. Dr. Chiara Muzi (2019) University of Camerino, Italy (Co-Advisor)
  33. Dr. Ana Ivanchikj (2021), Università della Svizzera italiana
  34. Dr. Sebastian Wagner (2022), Universität Stuttgart
  35. Dr.-Ing. Philippe Krajsic (2022), Universität Leipzig
  36. Dr. rer. nat. Sebastian Steinau (2023), Universität Ulm

Membership in Program Committees